Women’s T20 World Cup 2023. Qualifying scenarios

Learn about the scenarios and details of the highly anticipated Women’s T20 World Cup expected to take place in 2023 - the teams, the countries, safety protocols and guidelines, and more.


The 10-team T20 World Cup, which is hosted by the International Cricket Council (ICC), is currently scheduled for February 9-26, 2023 in South Africa. Reports confirm that the rankings posted on November 30, 2021, will provide direct entries into the tournament for 8 of the 10 teams. What will happen to the remaining 2 slots? Most fans and followers of the sport know that as many as 37 different teams will compete against each other in a qualifying tournament to see which teams will earn those 2 slots.

Spotlighting First-Timers of T20 Women’s Event

Perhaps one of the most exciting elements of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 is the number of countries that will compete for the first time – including Bhutan, Cameroon, France, Myanmar, and Turkey. The report further states that Brazil and Argentina will generate buzz and draw a lot of attention since the last time they were represented in the competition was back in 2012. According to an official release from the ICC, the addition of these countries to the list has been recognized as a “nod to the growth” of women’s cricket on a global scale within emerging markets. 

A regional qualifying event will be hosted in the five regions. The highest-ranking team from each region will join the two teams ranked at the very bottom of the list as of November 30, 2021. These would be the same teams that competed in the Australia 2020 event. Those that proceed to the next round will compete in the 8-team ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2022. The highest-ranking team from those regional qualifiers will take the final position available.

How COVID-19 Guidelines Affect the Schedule

To maintain the appropriate safety protocol and COVID-19 guidelines, each of the arrangements currently scheduled for the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 is tentative and subject to change. Outlined below is a draft of the basic schedule so far:

  • August 26-30, 2021: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier (Scotland)
  • September 3-8, 2021: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup EAP Qualifier (Samoa)
  • September 11-18, 2021: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier (USA)
  • September 20-26, 2021: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier (Malaysia)
  • October 2021: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier
  • February 9-26, 2023: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

An Exciting Time for eSports Around the World

Holly Colvin, manager of the women’s cricket program with the ICC, expressed the council’s excitement over welcoming cricket back into the lineup for women’s sporting events in a published statement. She indicated that it was an exciting time for the sport, but that the build-up and sustenance of the momentum associated with it were essential. Colvin further expressed that the Women’s T20 World Cup qualifying routes were a great starting point to work towards achieving that goal.

The first edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup occurred in 2009 within England. Only eight teams participated in the tournament during the first three years of the event. The number of participating teams was raised to 10 for the 2014 tournament – a change that is still enforced today. Australia still reigns as the country with the most tournament wins (5) – arguably making them the most successful team in the history of this tournament. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here