Guide to Different Types of Horse Racing Bets

Horse race tips in India for punters unfamiliar with different types of bets. Read on to get a better understanding of horse race betting.

Horse Racing Betting

Horse race betting is often associated with just one thing: selecting the winner. However, horse race betting is so much more than just picking the winner. There are many other types of bets available, and it can be incredibly beneficial for punters in India.

Without further ado, let’s get started with the different types of horse racing bets:

Horse race types

To strengthen your grasp of horse racing betting in India, you need to first understand the sport.

Different types of horse races bets

  • On ‘all’ races with four runners/horses or less, you can only bet on who you think will win the race.
  • On races with five runners or more you can bet each-way, meaning you also receive a return if your horse is placed.
  • ‘All’ races with between five and seven runners have two finishing places – first and second.
  • ‘All’ races except Handicaps with eight or more runners have three finishing positions – first, second and third.
  • ‘Handicap’ races with 12-15 runners, too, have three finishing positions. However, handicap races with 16 or more runners pay out on the first four places.

The terms of the place part of your bet will vary between ¼ the win odds, and ⅕ the win odds, depending on the race type and number of runners.

Straight/Basic Horse Racing bet

A straight or basic bet means choosing one horse in a single race.

  • Win: You predict the horse that finishes first. If your horse wins, you win!
  • Each-Way: This comprises two bets, one on the horse to win and one on the horse to be placed.

Let’s look at a practical example of the difference…

You place a win only bet of ₹200 at odds of 7.00.

  • If the horse wins, you receive ₹1,400 (₹1,200 winnings + ₹200 stake returned).

However, if you place an each-way bet of ₹200 at odds of 7.00, this will cost you ₹400 (₹200 on the horse to win + ₹200 on the horse to be placed). Let’s assume the place terms were ¼ the odds for the first three places.

  • If the horse wins, your payout comprises two parts. ₹1,400 from the win part of the bet (₹1,200 winnings + ₹200 win stake returned) PLUS ₹500 from the place part of the bet (₹300 winnings + ₹200 place stake returned)
  • However, if the horse finishes second of third, the win part of your bet loses, and you will receive a payout of ₹500 for the place part of your bet.

Win only bets are relatively simple to understand, but each-way bets give the bettor more chance of a return and might be the preferred option if the horse is not one of the favourites.

Accumulator bets

As with betting on other sports, accumulator bets across different races can also be popular on horse racing. As the odds will generally be higher than in ‘match-type’ sports events, bets are more likely on doubles or trebles rather than with many selections.

As with betting on singles, you can also place a win only or each-way accumulator bet. These follow the same rules, where with a ‘win only’ accumulator, every selection must win. In an ‘each-way’ accumulator, there are two bets, one on all selections to win and one on all selections to be placed.

Forecast / Tricast bets

For a forecast or tricast wager, you need to select the correct finishing order of a horse race. It is divided into the following categories (note: Tricasts are only permitted on handicap races with eight or more runners):

  • Straight forecast: It means picking the finishing order for first and second place, in that order.
  • Reverse forecast: It means selecting the first and second place in either order, but costs twice the amount of a straight forecast.
  • Combination forecast: It means selecting three or more horses, two of which must finish in the first and second places. The cost of this bet will depend on how many selections are included.
  • Straight tricast: It means picking the finishing order for first, second and third place, in that order.
  • Combination tricast: It means selecting three or more horses, three of which must finish in the first, second and third places. The cost of this bet will depend on how many selections are included.

To give you an example of a straight forecast, let’s say you chose Horse A and Horse B to finish 1st and 2nd respectively. So, if Horse B comes first and Horse A takes the 2nd place, you will lose the wager.

However, in a reverse forecast the stake will cost twice as much, but the bet will be a winning one as you cover the horses to finish first and second in either order.

Other Horse Racing Bets

In addition to the previously mentioned bet types, Marathonbet also offers additional markets on horse racing.

As well as betting on a horse to win, you can also bet on a horse ‘not to win’ a race. Further to this, in races, several match bets are offered, where you are betting on one horse to finish in front another horse. So, you can still have a winning bet if your horse finished fifth, if the other horse finishes even further down the field!

You can bet on a favourite or unnamed favourite, which will be defined by the final Starting Price odds.

Additionally, there are also ante-post bets available on races taking place in the future.

Reading the Racecard

On the Marathonbet site the racecards give you additional information for the race and each horse. Here you can see:

For the Race:

  • Distance
  • Number of declared runners (non-runners are greyed out underneath the racecard)
  • Each-way terms

For the Horse:

  • Age
  • Weight to carry
  • Latest form
  • Trainer & Jockey
  • Latest odds

Odds Type

There are three main types of odds traditionally offered on horse racing; Early Price (EP), Board Price (BP) and Starting Price (SP). The main differences of these are:

  • Early Price – odds offered by the bookmaker ahead of the race
  • Board Price – odds offered closer to the off of a race (generally in the last 10 minutes) which are derived from the average odds offered by bookmakers at the racetrack
  • Starting Price – The final average price offered by the bookmakers at the racetrack.

If you bet at EP or BP, you are taking the price when you place your bet. If you bet at SP, you are taking the final price offered which shows in the official race results.

Do Marathonbet offer any bonuses on horse racing?

On certain races ‘best odds guaranteed’ will be offered. This means that if you take an early price in your bet and the SP is greater, then your bets will be paid out at SP. This applies to both win and place single and multiple bets.

A race on which best odds guaranteed is offered will be denoted with a yellow rosette next to the race time and meeting name on the racecard.

 Additionally, ‘double result’, commonly known also as ‘first past the post’ is offered.

Here, Marathonbet pay out on both results if a winner is disqualified. This applies to the Win part of bets only, i.e. where we pay both on the official result and a disqualified winner.

There are various links within our help section to explain the racing terms, they are linked here for your reference:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here